Each year, the Canada Council and the Governor General of Canada collaborate to honour excellence in visual and media arts.

Award categories are: distinguished artistic career achievement in visual and/or media arts; the Saidye Bronfman Award for excellence in the fine crafts; and Outstanding Contribution (to recognize an individual or group for outstanding contribution to contemporary visual and/or media arts).

Below are the Saskatchewan recipients of the Governor General's Awards in Visual and Media Arts.


  • Margaret Dragu: Performance Arts


  • Aganetha Dyck: Visual Arts


  • Kenneth Lochhead: Visual Arts


  • Edward Poitras: Visual Arts