Appointed with input from the arts community, the Saskatchewan Arts Board’s Board of Directors governs the agency through The Arts Board Act, 1997.

The Board of Directors of the Saskatchewan Arts Board has a wealth of knowledge and experience in areas such as artistic excellence, entrepreneurship, business, strategic planning, governance and finance. They also have extensive experience serving on other provincial boards of directors in a variety of public benefit sectors. Each individual’s diverse background contributes to the leadership that they provide the Arts Board in the development of policy priorities with an emphasis on providing relevant, accessible, and tailored services to meet the needs of our stakeholders.

Board Members

Jyotsna (Jo) Custead, Saskatoon – retired human resources specialist

Jo has had a life-long interest in building stronger and caring communities and is recognized as an outstanding leader in our community, having served as board chair of YWCA Saskatoon, Saskatoon United Way & Area and TCU Place. She has also served on the Board of Directors of the Saskatoon Symphony Orchestra, Persephone Theatre, Heritage Saskatchewan and as treasurer of YWCA Canada. Numerous other organizations have benefitted from her involvement. She is recipient of Governor General of Canada 125 Medal and a recipient of the Queen’s Jubilee medal. She was a nominee in the Culture and Heritage category for Saskatoon’s YWCA Women of Distinction Award. Most recently, Jo was inducted in the Saskatoon Council of Women’s Hall of Fame.  

George Glenn, Prince Albert –  visual artist and educator

George grew up in the prairie cities of Regina, Winnipeg and Calgary. He graduated with a Bachelor of Fine Arts (Honours) from the University of Manitoba in 1970, and a Master of Fine Arts from the University of Cincinnati in 1974. He moved to Prince Albert in 1975, where he taught painting and drawing classes as a sessional instructor for the University of Saskatchewan from 1981 to 2013. He maintains an active art practice and a studio north of Prince Albert in the village of Christopher Lake.  


Gale Hagblom, Saskatoon – urban planner and artist

Gale was born and raised in Saskatoon. She has had three distinctive careers. The first was in early education as a childcare provider and preschool teacher. She followed this with training in new media at the Banff Centre for the Arts. This education led to a 15-year career in design and communications. In 2006, Gale took a leave to complete a BFA at the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design University. She transitioned into her third profession after completing an MA in Geography and Planning from the University of Saskatchewan. She currently works as a planning consultant and maintains a professional art practice.

Peggy L'Hoir, Biggar – music educator

As a teacher, clinician, adjudicator, musical director, mentor and collaborative artist, Peggy feels fortunate to be a part of the community of Biggar, SK. She has a dynamic music studio, inspiring her students in the areas of piano, theory, composition and accompanying. She is also musical director of Biggar’s annual theatre productions and coordinator of the Heart of the City Piano Program, which provides music lessons for students experiencing sociological or financial obstacles. Peggy embraces opportunities to create musical events in Biggar and collaborates with local and visiting musicians. She is a past president of the Saskatchewan Registered Music Teachers’ Association and the Canadian Federation of Music Teachers’ Association. 

Edie Marshall – visual artist and educator

Edie Marshall is a Saskatchewan painter who is interested in the environment, the history and culture of the land. Most of her work is about the prairies where she finds an unlimited and often overlooked source of colours and shapes, ideas and images. Edie received her Bachelor of Fine Arts from the University of Saskatchewan in 2004, with Great Distinction. She has work in public collections at the University of Saskatchewan and St. Thomas More Gallery in Saskatoon and in private collections around the world. Edie teaches painting at the Neil Balkwill Civic Art Centre. She has been program coordinator at the Art Gallery of Regina and at CARFAC SASK. Edie has served on several provincial and national boards, advocating for visual arts. Edie recently moved to Riverhurst, SK, with her husband, where she applies her art and teaches.

Lionel Auburn Peyachew, Regina – visual artist and educator

Lionel is an associate professor in the Department of Interdisciplinary Studies at the First Nations University of Canada. In 2000, he graduated with an MFA from the University of Calgary and has since been teaching sculpture, Indian art history, traditional Indian art and painting. He also has a BFA in Sculpture from the University of Lethbridge and the Alberta College of Art and Design. Lionel has been a practicing artist for most of his career and has been awarded with five major public commissions since completing his thesis specializing in sculpture. Peyachew has won numerous awards including three with the Canada Council for the Arts and three awards with the Aboriginal Achievement for the Arts. 

Nadia Williamson, Regina – costume designer and entrepreneur

From a young age, Nadia showed strong artistic bent. She excelled in drawing and painting and developed a deep interest in fashion arts. Following her passion, she took courses in the University of Regina's Theatre Department and focused on costume design. When an opportunity arose to use her talents and training in movie production, she took the challenge and soon become a sought-after costume designer in the Saskatchewan film industry. The intermittent nature of the film industry employment enabled her to attend La Salle College in Montreal, where she received a diploma in fashion design. In December 2005, she started her own business by opening NWL, a dress boutique located in downtown Regina, which is now well-known and favoured by fashion-conscious clientele. Nadia is the past chair of the Regina Chamber of Commerce and currently sits on the Regina Downtown Board and the Saskatchewan Arts Board. Her high profile in the community was recognized when she received the 2009 Young Women of Distinction Award.

List of board members from 1948 to present.